BERLIN 2010 PT. II

Madame Tussaud's.
This was definitely one of the highlights of the vacation! Madame Tussaud's in Berlin have only been open for 2 years, but there's already quite a lot figurines showing both celebrities and historic people. There was everyone from Freud and Einstein to Bono and Heidi Klum. It was amazing to see and touch them, because most of them seemed so real. To make it even better, there was a sign that encouraged visitors to touch and interact with the figures.


But the moneymaker was Bill Kaulitz. I had been going on and on about how the figurine didn't look like him at all (which, I was right about) and I wouldn't get excited when I saw it... Oh well, I did. I kept touching it, looking at it, getting pictures taken with it. It was easy to see that they protected it well; every time there were a lot of people in the section Bill was standing in, an employee at the wax museum came to check out what was happening. It was understandable though, since someone had ripped one of his nails off. But seeing it/him was a perfect fangirl moment for me.

 



Zoo and Aquarium.
Despite what some people think or say, I find zoos great. They take care of animals, so they won't get extinct. I liked the zoo, especially the feline section; they had lions, ocelots, sand cats, tigers, leopards, black panthers and lots of other cute and cuddly cats. The nocturnal section was also really cool, even though some of the animals scared me a bit!


The aquarium was so amazing! I'm not that into fish and underwater-stuff, but the aquarium looked great inside out! It was in three floors, and not only with underwater animals, but with insects, frogs, snakes and the likes. I was really surprised, I have to admit.

 



Shopping.
The shopping possibilities… Oh wauw. Whether it was on the Ku'Damm or in ARKADEN I was pleased with everything. And, as you can see in my previous post, I got to shop a lot. I really wish I had more days, so I could use all my money, but I didn't. Shopping in Berlin is something I can recommend.

 



Fernsehturm.
I've been in the TV tower twice before, but both times was in the daytime. Because it was too hot to go outside when the sun was up, Thea and I decided to go out at about 10PM. The football finale was shown on different bars and restaurants, so there was an amazing atmosphere everywhere, and the city was filled with happy football fans.


After a long U-bahn ride, we came to the TV tower, bought our ticket and got up... Wow! The city looked beautiful, lit up by a million lights. It was hard to take pictures without flash, and I only got two good ones but I still remember how it looked. And they showed the football match in the bar in the TV tower (I hoped for the Dutch team to win, but that's life).

 



Overall impression.
I love Berlin, and this trip just made my love bigger. The city is amazing, even though I sometimes got really sad when I saw all the homeless people and the gypsies. Plus, when it's a really hot summer day in Berlin the sewers stink! But you forget about it, when you have as much fun as I did. I'm sure that I'm going back next year.


-


So this was the highlights of my trip to Berlin. Picspam will come asap!


Comments

Comment the entry here:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (Not getting published)

URL/Blog:

Comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0